Mably FarmHouse

Hayle, Cornwall (Ref. 959246)

  • Rating Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes

  • Sleeps 8

  • Bedrooms 5

  • Bathrooms 2

  • Pets No

  • View on map

  • Rating Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes

  • Sleeps 8

  • Bedrooms 5

  • Bathrooms 2

  • Pets No

  • View on map

Features

  • Icon/Feature/Smoke-free Smoke-free
  • Icon/Feature/Garden or Patio Garden / Patio
  • Icon/Feature/Baby-friendly Cot available
  • Icon/Feature/Baby-friendly Highchair available
  • Icon/Feature/Washing machine Washing machine
  • Icon/Feature/Dishwasher Dishwasher
  • Icon/Feature/WiFi Broadband / WiFi
  • Ms Hicks

    “Had to give the house a rating of 1 because you couldn’t go any lower.”

    We have previously stayed in Cornwall multiple times at some beautiful accommodations, and have never once experienced such a disgusting stay like this! On arrival, we were very early as we had travelled down from Yorkshire, whilst we waited we went into the pub next door Country Skittles to have a drink and a bite to eat, they were very accommodating as we were on holiday with family who had 2 young boys with disabilities and we were able to get in the house 2 hours earlier than we should ...

    We have previously stayed in Cornwall multiple times at some beautiful accommodations, and have never once experienced such a disgusting stay like this! On arrival, we were very early as we had travelled down from Yorkshire, whilst we waited we went into the pub next door Country Skittles to have a drink and a bite to eat, they were very accommodating as we were on holiday with family who had 2 young boys with disabilities and we were able to get in the house 2 hours earlier than we should have done. Once the house was ready we were taken over, but from the second we walked in the door, a stench of foist hit us leaving us to have to go out and buy our own air fresheners for the place. Before commenting on the state of the house, I’d like to mention this house was nothing but riddled with large black beetles crawling on every surface, coming in colonies of 4/5 at a time making us feel absolutely vile and on edge, and leaving us unable to sleep in the master bedroom due to bugs in the bed. The house was very dirty and covered in dust and cobwebs didn’t look like it had been cleaned for months there was also mould on the bathroom walls. The cushion covers/blankets on the sofa stunk so we had to take them all off and wash and dry them to make them smell fresher... And also had to hoover the entire house, mop the floors and do a full clean of the house. This is unacceptable given that we are on holiday, who comes on what is meant to be a week of relaxation, to spend their week cleaning and riddled with bugs?! When we contacted the owner all he said was that h and his wife and son had cleaned the house themselves and it was clean. We have been bitten all over by bugs in the beds and around the house, which is also not something you plan on whilst you are supposed to be staying in a luxury cottage. Honestly, we are utter most disgusted to find that when we complained, all we received was a “complementary re-clean” of the house, and send pest control out to get rid of the bugs, it was very wet on the day they arrived so we had to be out of the house for a minimum of 3 hours to enable them to de-bug the house (which he couldn’t do all of the house as it was raining so couldn’t do the outside), which wasn’t good trying to keep the 2 young disabled boys entertained in the middle nowhere in the rain, even after pest control had been in we were still getting the bugs. Never again would we stay in this accommodation and do not recommend this house.

    Thank you for taking the time to let us have your feedback following your weeks holiday in Cornwall. We’re very sorry that you feel disappointed on this occasion and didn’t enjoy your stay. As you stated, you were given early access to the house and whilst the owner and cleaners felt they cleaned to their usual high standard they do accept that they may have missed some areas due to rushing. Once they learned that you were unhappy they did immediately offer to return, but you declined this offer. You reported the beetles in the house after 3 days and upon learning of this, the owners immediately arranged for a visit from Pest Control the very next day. We accept it wasn’t pleasant to see these and are very sorry that it happened – Pest Control later advised that they were “Strawberry Beetles”, which are completely harmless to humans/pets and in this area and quite a common occurrence to see in properties at this time of year. After investigation we can find no evidence that they bite people. We ourselves immediately arranged to visit the property on receipt of your feedback and having done so are satisfied that the property is overall in good condition and as advertised. We would agree that nearing the end of a busy season, there are some signs of wear and tear, but there is nothing that we feel is significant or unusual. We can confidently recommend this property and feel the many other positive reviews from customers are entirely justified. Owner relations

The property

Enjoy superb views across open countryside whilst being a 10 minute drive from the 4km golden sands of Gwithian Towans.

Never far from swimming, surfing and snorkelling on safe beaches, you can also lose hours exploring rock pools or perhaps relaxing with a good book in the sun.

With a mild climate, Cornwall is great out of season.

There are castles and historical manor homes to explore, the Eden Project to marvel at, art galleries to visit.

Experience fishing village life at local towns like Penzance, Newlyn and Mousehole.

For the energetic, try miles of marked cycle trails, horse riding on beaches, golf with sea views and walks along the coastal footpath.

Popular resort St Ives is a short drive away with its restaurants, cafes, bars and delicatessens, as well as antique shops, galleries, and sandy beaches - fantastic for sheltered surfing conditions.

St.Erth, with its long meandering river, is just 2 miles away, with a friendly pub, village store and post office.

Smartly furnished, the uncluttered living space has period features, solid oak floors and soft neutral decor creating a warm welcome.

Enclosed gardens and a large tree house provide a perfect environment for children to play in (care, of course must be taken).

Its only neighbour is the family venue 'Country Skittles' with skittle alleys, bar, restaurant, plenty of games and, best of all, free entry for residents of Mably Farmhouse.

Two reception rooms add versatility, offering a calm escape for those who wish to read in peace while others play with a variety of entertainment media across the hall.

Also provided are a variety of board games and toys for younger children.

There is a well equipped large kitchen with breakfast bar and a separate dining room for family meals.

Each bedroom is comfortably appointed with crisp fabrics and linens.

There is an upstairs bathroom and downstairs shower room.

Finally - a godsend for every Cornish holiday - ample private parking for a number of cars adjacent to house.

Summary

  • Over two floors
  • Five bedrooms: 1 x king-size double bedroom, 1 x double bedroom, 1 x twin bedroom and 2 x single bedrooms
  • Bathroom with bath, hand-held shower, basin and WC
  • Ground floor shower room with shower, basin and WC
  • Kitchen
  • Dining room
  • Sitting room.
  • Gas central heating
  • Gas oven and hob, microwave, fridge/freezer, washing machine, tumble dryer, dishwasher, TV, DVD, WiFi, Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Cot and highchair available
  • Off-road parking for 2 cars
  • Enclosed paved and lawned garden
  • Sorry, no pets and no smoking
  • Shop 5 miles
  • Pub 5 mins walk.

Calculate your drive time

About the location

HAYLE

St Ives 7 miles; Penzance 7.5 miles.

Hayle is in the far-flung south western corner of Cornwall and sits on an important RSPB wildlife estuary flowing out to the beautiful St Ives Bay, where visitors can enjoy three miles of golden sandy beaches, walks, history and wildlife. St Ives harbour has its own small fishing fleet and there are plentiful boat trips skippered by locals keen to showcase the best that Cornwall has to offer, whether it be seal watching at Seal Island, a couple of hours' mackerel fishing or a relaxing trip to Godrevy Lighthouse. Hayle has plenty of activities out of the water too; Paradise Park is a wildlife park, home to some spectacular parrots, otters and red pandas. Hayle has a range of shops, restaurants and bars scattered around the estuary and harbour area. There are skittles and karting for the family, and for golfers, one of the best links golf courses in Cornwall is at Lelant, a mile out of Hayle. But the jewel of Hayle is the three miles of golden sandy beach, with fantastic surfing at Gwithian where there is a surf shop, lessons and hire of equipment. For the less energetic there are beach cafes where you can take in the views and watch the children play. As Hayle is centrally located you can easily access many other places by either public transport (there is a train station at Hayle) or driving. St. Ives is a short drive away where you can wander through the narrow streets, visit the art galleries or admire the colourful sub tropical gardens. Within easy reach of Hayle is the Minack Theatre (35 mins), Falmouth Maritime Museum (40 mins), Eden Project (40 mins), St. Michael’s Mount (15 mins) and many other fantastic tourist attractions for dry or wet days.

paper-airoplane-icon-black Created with Sketch.

Sign up for exclusive offers and discounts sent straight to your inbox

Uh oh! An error occurred, could you double-check your email?

Tick Created with Sketch.

Thank You! You have subscribed successfully