- Garden / Patio
- Cot available
- Highchair available
- Washing machine
- Broadband / WiFi
“Had to give the house a rating of 1 because you couldn’t go any lower.”
We have previously stayed in Cornwall multiple times at some beautiful accommodations, and have never once experienced such a disgusting stay like this! On arrival, we were very early as we had travelled down from Yorkshire, whilst we waited we went into the pub next door Country Skittles to have a drink and a bite to eat, they were very accommodating as we were on holiday with family who had 2 young boys with disabilities and we were able to get in the house 2 hours earlier than we should ...
We have previously stayed in Cornwall multiple times at some beautiful accommodations, and have never once experienced such a disgusting stay like this! On arrival, we were very early as we had travelled down from Yorkshire, whilst we waited we went into the pub next door Country Skittles to have a drink and a bite to eat, they were very accommodating as we were on holiday with family who had 2 young boys with disabilities and we were able to get in the house 2 hours earlier than we should have done. Once the house was ready we were taken over, but from the second we walked in the door, a stench of foist hit us leaving us to have to go out and buy our own air fresheners for the place. Before commenting on the state of the house, I’d like to mention this house was nothing but riddled with large black beetles crawling on every surface, coming in colonies of 4/5 at a time making us feel absolutely vile and on edge, and leaving us unable to sleep in the master bedroom due to bugs in the bed. The house was very dirty and covered in dust and cobwebs didn’t look like it had been cleaned for months there was also mould on the bathroom walls. The cushion covers/blankets on the sofa stunk so we had to take them all off and wash and dry them to make them smell fresher... And also had to hoover the entire house, mop the floors and do a full clean of the house. This is unacceptable given that we are on holiday, who comes on what is meant to be a week of relaxation, to spend their week cleaning and riddled with bugs?! When we contacted the owner all he said was that h and his wife and son had cleaned the house themselves and it was clean. We have been bitten all over by bugs in the beds and around the house, which is also not something you plan on whilst you are supposed to be staying in a luxury cottage. Honestly, we are utter most disgusted to find that when we complained, all we received was a “complementary re-clean” of the house, and send pest control out to get rid of the bugs, it was very wet on the day they arrived so we had to be out of the house for a minimum of 3 hours to enable them to de-bug the house (which he couldn’t do all of the house as it was raining so couldn’t do the outside), which wasn’t good trying to keep the 2 young disabled boys entertained in the middle nowhere in the rain, even after pest control had been in we were still getting the bugs. Never again would we stay in this accommodation and do not recommend this house.
Thank you for taking the time to let us have your feedback following your weeks holiday in Cornwall. We’re very sorry that you feel disappointed on this occasion and didn’t enjoy your stay. As you stated, you were given early access to the house and whilst the owner and cleaners felt they cleaned to their usual high standard they do accept that they may have missed some areas due to rushing. Once they learned that you were unhappy they did immediately offer to return, but you declined this offer. You reported the beetles in the house after 3 days and upon learning of this, the owners immediately arranged for a visit from Pest Control the very next day. We accept it wasn’t pleasant to see these and are very sorry that it happened – Pest Control later advised that they were “Strawberry Beetles”, which are completely harmless to humans/pets and in this area and quite a common occurrence to see in properties at this time of year. After investigation we can find no evidence that they bite people. We ourselves immediately arranged to visit the property on receipt of your feedback and having done so are satisfied that the property is overall in good condition and as advertised. We would agree that nearing the end of a busy season, there are some signs of wear and tear, but there is nothing that we feel is significant or unusual. We can confidently recommend this property and feel the many other positive reviews from customers are entirely justified. Owner relations