- Off road parking
- Pub/shop < 1 mile
- Washing machine
- Broadband / WiFi
6 Customer Review(s)
“We arrived at Ocean View and what a lovely surprise when we reached the top of the steps, a lovely little terrace with furniture and sea views.”
On opening the front door we were pleasantly surprised to find a beautifully spacious and modern apartment. It was spotlessly clean and very comfortable. The Jacuzzi bath was so good! There were cakes in the kitchen, flowers on the sitting room coffee table and a chocolate each side of the bed. ...
On opening the front door we were pleasantly surprised to find a beautifully spacious and modern apartment. It was spotlessly clean and very comfortable. The Jacuzzi bath was so good! There were cakes in the kitchen, flowers on the sitting room coffee table and a chocolate each side of the bed. We spent a great week there and it was also close to a lot of lovely places to visit. We would definitely go back there. (We did have to go and buy a couple of egg cups, as we do enjoy boiled eggs when on holiday!) A great place to stay. Would thoroughly recommend it.- Mrs Formby, September 2020
“We loved Ocean View, it was extremely clean and roomy.”
It had everything we needed, and we really enjoyed our stay. It is a handy location, with a Tesco right opposite, and in driving distance to lots of places to explore.- Miss Hines, August 2020
“The apartment was beautifully kitted out inside with lovely furnishings and the views from the balcony were delightful.”
The lack of a shower was disappointing, especially when where was no hot water to fill the bath, so lay back and relax in a cold bath!! What we did find particularly helpful was the early morning wake up calls, as there were roadworks being carried out directly outside the property during our stay and neither Sykes or the owners informed us of this. This resulted in a convalescing stay turning into a tiring break, which didn’t deliver what was needed or expected. This wasn’t one of the cheapest properties on offer and it didn’t deliver on expectations. Neither Sykes or the owners have managed to respond to my many calls, which again doesn’t fulfil the company promise.- Mr French, August 2020
Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback. We are very pleased that you found the apartment to be well equipped with lovely furnishings and a delightful view. It is disappointing however, that there was work being carried out on the road at the time of your stay. I am pleased to say that since your feedback, we have contacted you and the issue has been resolved. There are also contact details in the property should any issues arise and so wish you had contact us regarding the hot water so that the issue could have been resolved at te time. We look forward to welcoming you back. Owner relations
“Absolutely lovely place better than the photos we could not fault anything and would thoroughly recommend this place if you like luxury and modern and clean living.”
We have been in places that don't quite exceed the expectations and photos do it justice but Ocean View was quite the opposite. It was a Fantastic place to stay.- Mr Williams, July 2020
“Not quite up to standard”
Stayed for a week - highlight was fantastic weather and location easy access to everywhere Flat clean and well decorated however Car parking very tight Metal fire escape type stairs not easy to walk up with vine twisted around hand rail Balcony - really a joke! Basically a decked platform at the top of stairs looking straight into the next door house Bed - very comfortable but why was the bedroom at the front of the house - would have been better to have lounge at front and bedroom at back of flat Bathroom - when one has dodgy knees the lack of a proper shower attachment would be better . The bath was amazing but a nightmare for me to get in and out with no handrails . No amount of flicking switches and thermistats could we get any heat out of the towel rail Fortunately we took 2 large beach towels with us as the tiny hard towels in the flat would not have dried much! Kitchen - fine but OMG are those stools uncomfortable! Overall the flat though elegantly decorated it was very dark and lighting poor which made it almost impossible to read our relaxing books- Coleson17, September 2019
“Nice place but a few issues”
Upon arrival we found the property to be on a very main and busy road, which was ok until I found that my car would not fit on the drive. I rang the number I had just to check if I had the right parking space and he confirmed it was on the right as I looked at the house. I have an insignia which is an ordinary saloon car but when reversed onto the drive it covered the pavement outside the property. To say this property has off road parking is not true for all vehicles and should be followed by a size of car it can accommodate i.e. nothing bigger than a Fiat 500 or similar. This may seem like a petty issue but as stated the road outside is extremely busy all day and exasperated but the Tesco Extra opposite the property. The busy road also ruins the ambiance of the terrace, which is to the side of the building and not the rear, which would of blocked out the sound considerably. Also the external stairs have an unusable handrail due to overgrown foliage and a rather small top step, not to bad going up but a bit of a surprise coming down. Upon entering the property we found it to be very clean and tidy and we were very happy at first until we found a few niggles. This property is listed as luxury but I fail to agree on this point and feel a bit ripped off from start to finish. The bathroom. Shower tap does not work correctly. The soft close toilet seat does not close. The plug in the sink does not stop the water from draining away. Also, in mine and some of your previous guests opinion, get rid of the bath and help save water by installing a luxury shower. The kitchen. Belfast sink gave me back ache. Get rid of the dishwasher and get a freezer. Oven gloves required, health and safety essential. New work surface, current one looking a bit old and tired. The Bedroom New mattress required ASAP, both myself and my partner found it to be a bit uncomfortable. It is nicely decorated but is starting to show it's age with peeling paint in the corner and marks on the curtains. Not enough storage or hanging space. The Living Room Nicely decorated but is starting to show cracks on one of the walls. The window is very hard to close and lock and really needs replacing. Only the basic Sky package available which is not stated very clearly on the Sykes website. All in all a bit of a disappointment and it has put us off renting a property again as we feel it has not met our expectations or the description on the Sykes website. As we have visited Cornwall before we have always rented properties with off road parking but have spent some of this visit worrying about the safety of our car. Owner if you are reading this please understand that luxury means luxury and nothing less will do, so please either fix the issues or be more transparent with your description in future.- adrianlcb, July 2018
Ocean View is one of two luxurious apartments with enticing sea views located within a 5 minute drive of the fabulous Cornish Riviera coastline.
This cool bolthole is arranged on the first floor of what is beautiful restoration of a handsome Victorian House.
Designed for couples and the style-conscious, the spacious proportions and elegant interiors are a triumph.You will feel cosseted here.
Behind the roadside exterior, the mood is sophisticated with solid oak floors, art memorabilia and good design in fittings and furniture.
The sitting room has a large picture window with far-reaching views across roof tops to the broad sweep of sea at St Austell Bay, which is a string of golden beaches, stunning coast path and charming fishing villages.
A tall ceiling with a Velux window adds to the dimension and the light airy feel.
Cook in the smart and well equipped kitchen with butler sink, eat together at the table or on the balcony accessed via the front door on warm days.
Enjoy a soak in the swish bathroom with its deep bathtub and Jacuzzi bubbles.
Retire to the romantic bedroom with its clutter free style allowing the bold decor and a king-size solid wood bed-frame, topped with sumptuous bed linens, to speak for itself.
Beside the bedroom is an extra space in the shape of a little dressing room complete with a double wardrobe and big mirror.
St Austell is a convenient base and you will not be short of things to do.
The sandy beach and coastal golf course at Porthpean and the historic port of Charlestown, renowned for its tall ships and for the filming of the BBC's Poldark series, are a 5 minute drive.
The world famous Eden Project with its rain forest biomes is a 10 minute drive and the charming fishing village of Mevagissey, Pentewen Beach and famous Lost Gardens of Heligan are a 15 minute drive.
A little farther afield is the maritime town of Fowey with independent shops and harbour front restaurants and pubs.
There is parking for one car and a delicious welcome pack on arrival plus guides, maps and menus to plan a perfect stay.
The ground floor apartment, Sea View, accommodates four people and is also available to book.
- All first floor
- One bedroom: 1 x king-size double with dressing room
- Bathroom with jacuzzi bath, hand-held shower, basin and WC
- Kitchen with bar height dining area
- Sitting room.
- Gas central heating
- Electric oven and hob, microwave, fridge (no icebox), small freezer in utility room, washing machine, dishwasher, TV with Sky, DVD, WiFi ( Signal can be Intermittent )and selection of books
- Fuel and power inc. in rent
- Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
- PARKING - Off road parking for one medium car, also has road side parking if necessary
- Balcony with furniture
- Sorry, no pets and no smoking
- Shop 1 min walk, pub 10 minute walk
- Note: Children are not accepted at this property
- Note: Tesco Express and social club across the road
- Note: All bookings for December 2018 - January 2019 will receive a welcome package from the owner on arrival.
About the location
Charlestown 2 miles; Carlyon Bay 3 miles; Mevagissey 6 miles; Fowey 8 miles.
The old market town of St Austell, just a mile or two from the south coast, is famous as the historic centre of the china clay mining industry. Today, its many beaches and its sub-tropical gardens provide plenty to see and do. The wonderful Lost Gardens of Heligan and the Eden Project are perfect for a family day out, and a little further afield Caerhays Castle provides a stunning backdrop to Porthluny Cove. On the edge of town, St Austell Brewery offers tours of the Victorian brewing equipment and a chance to sample the local beer, and for those looking for surf and sand, St Austell Bay has several beaches to choose from - Porthpean, Carlyon Bay, Pentewan, Polkerris - the last offering a variety of water-sports. As well as a small shingle beach, Charlestown, a pretty, historic port, often has wooden sailing ships in the harbour, and is popular as a film location. A little further afield are Fowey and its beautiful estuary to the east and the fishing port of Mevagissey to the west. With lots to do and something to keep the whole family entertained, St Austell is a great year-round destination.
Note: Children are not accepted at this property.
Note: There are 15 metal steps up to the the front door and balcony with sea view.
Sign up for exclusive offers and discounts
Uh oh! An error occurred, could you double-check your email?
Thank You! You have subscribed successfully
Are you on the phone to our call centre? Your Customer ID is: p537nrg6